Silent Partner: Device Options

Follow

In this section, we will go over the following:

Accessing the Options Menu

Silent Partner has a few options that are built into the device itself.

To access these options, you will want to have access to the wireless keyboard that came with the device, and you will want to ensure that the keyboard is turned on. (The on/off switch is located on the top edge of the keyboard, and will be green when switched on.) Your keyboard is paired with a remote USB hub that comes pre-packaged and plugged into the Silent Partner device.

  1. While the device is playing, select the "ESC" key on the keyboard:
    track3.png
           
  2. You will be taken to the Start Screen below:spescape.PNG
           
  3. Use the track pad on the right side of the keyboard to move the cursor:
    track1.png
          
  4. Select "Options" in the lower left hand corner (by selecting the left-click button on the keyboard (below the track pad) to select it)
    track2.png
           
  5. Now you will see the below "Options" page:spoptions1.PNG

From this menu, we can:

  1. Modify the ticker that plays along the bottom of the screen
  2. Enable or disable closed captions for YouTube videos
  3. View the loading log from the most recent startup
  4. Restart the device to check for updates
  5. Caching for YouTube Videos- PBHS Admins ONLY!
  6. Access the Advanced Options - PBHS Admins ONLY!

Modifying the Ticker (or Chyron)

First, follow the above steps to access the Options menu.

  1. If not already checked, check the "Chyron" checkbox to turn this feature on:
    chyron1.png
            
  2. Once the Chyron is checked, you can select the check boxes of the below categories which you would like to enable within your Chryon: 
    1. Weather
    2. Financial News
    3. Health News
    4. Entertainment News
    5. Sports News
      chyron2.png
             
    6. Simply check the checkbox to the left of these options to enable them, or uncheck the checkboxes to disable them.
      chyron6.png
             
  3. Once finished, select the "Back" button to resume device play (your changes will be auto saved)
    chyron3.png

Please note:  

The ticket/chyron will NOT display over any videos which include closed captions. Closed captions are located at the bottom of screen, and we give priority to show this over the ticket/chyron:
chyron5.png

Once the video is done, and it plays a video with no closed caption- it should look similar to this:
chyron4.png

 

Closed Captions for YouTube Videos

First, follow the above steps to access the Options menu.

  1. To enable closed captions for YouTube videos, you can use the left-click button on the keyboard to check the checkbox to the left of the words 'Closed Captioning for YouTube Videos'.
    cc1.PNG
         
  2. You can disable closed captioning at any time by unchecking the checkbox to the left of the words 'Closed Captioning for YouTube Videos'.

    Once you are finished making your desired changes, pressing the 'Back' button at the top of the options menu will save your changes, and your playlist will resume with your new options enabled.
    cc2.png
    Note: This will only enable closed captioning for YouTube videos that have closed captions available. This does not include YouTube's automatic captions -- as these captions are automatically generated, and often include many errors and inconsistencies.

Viewing the Loading Log

First, follow the above steps to access the Options menu.

When the device is first booting up, it keeps a log of any new items it downloads from your playlist during the startup process. All items it successfully downloads will be listed in blue.

For the most part, you shouldn't have any particular need to view this log after the device has finished the startup process. However, in the event that the device detects an issue during the startup process, it will keep a log of the issue in red.

  1. The most common issues you will encounter is related to Facebook and Launch Survey integration. The Facebook boot log message will look similar to this:
    2.PNG
         
  2. If you encounter this message, it means that your practice's Facebook page doesn't have any recent posts that are suitable for display on an HDTV. To address this, you may wish to create Facebook posts that meet the following requirements:
    1. HD image quality. Specifically, it will search for landscape images with a bare minimum of 720 pixels in width.
    2. Text in the Facebook post. It will display this text in the ticker along the bottom of your screen as the image is displayed.
  3. The Launch Survey boot log message will look similar to this:launchsurvey.PNG
    If you encounter this message, it means your website's Launch Survey doesn't have any patient reviews available to pull from. Once your office begins receiving patient reviews, this message should go away as your device begins to integrate these reviews.

If you experience any other issues related to the boot log that is preventing normal operation, feel free to report this issue to our Support team for troubleshooting, by email at support@pbhs.com or by phone at 888-840-0739.

Restarting the Device

First, follow the above steps to access the Options menu.

  1. To restart the device and check for updates, you can use the left-click button on the keyboard to select the 'Check for Updates' button.
    checkforupdates.PNG
            
  2. The device will automatically reboot itself and check for any playlist updates that may have recently occurred.

Note: This process is functionally the same as unplugging the device from the power and then plugging it back in again.

Caching for YouTube Videos - Admin Use Only!

The Caching for YouTube Videos has no general purpose use during normal operation, and users should avoid modifying these options to prevent disruption of normal operation. Please only access the Advanced Options section if you are doing so under the direction of our Support staff during troubleshooting.

 

Advanced Options - Admin Use Only!

The Advanced Options have no general purpose use during normal operation, and users should avoid modifying these options to prevent disruption of normal operation. Please only access the Advanced Options section if you are doing so under the direction of our Support staff during troubleshooting.

 

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk